SNF NostosSNF Nostos

SNF Conference: Online Edition
June 22 & 23, 2020

Despite the upheaval of the pandemic, on June 22 and 23, 2020, as part of the Summer Nostos Festival RetroFuture we presented an online version of the SNF Conference, open to all, offering a first look at the discussions we would host in 2021, dedicated to the issue of Humanity and Artificial Intelligence. The conference explored, among other things, questions such as what lessons can we learn from the crises of the past, how do we leap forward in a more sustainable and inclusive future and how do we ensure that in the future, technology - and artificial intelligence in particular - will serve humanity, not the other way around. .

Watch discussions from the 2020 SNF Conference below.

 

Conference Program

Monday June 22, 2020
The conference is hosted and moderated by iMEdD Managing Director, SNF DIALOGUES Executive Director and Journalist Anna-Kynthia Bousdoukou.

  Opening Remarks

Andreas Dracopoulos Co-President, Stavros Niarchos Foundation
6:30pm to
7:30pm
(EET)

11:30am to
12:30pm
(EST)

8:30am to
9:30am
(PST)
Looking Back, Looking Forward

The SNF Conference emerged in 2012, in the midst of another major disruption – the 2008 global financial crisis. We've invited back some of our most provocative and irreverent presenters, to explore how ideas they've shared at past SNF conferences about critical issues speak to the present moment, and our possible futures. We'll examine the way public space is changing and challenged, the role of philanthropy and cultural institutions in responding to crises, and the role of ethics in shaping our public choices.

with…


Andreas Dracopoulos Co-President, Stavros Niarchos Foundation
Ruth Faden Founder, Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
Bill T. Jones Co-Founder, New York Live Arts
Eric Klinenberg Sociologist, NYU
Alan Stoga Chairman, The Tällberg Foundation
7:30pm to
9:00pm
(EET)

12:30pm to
2:00pm
(EST)

9:30am to
11:00am
(PST)
Rebirth, Reinvention, and Return: Framing Questions for the Post-COVID World

What might the world look like, and what choices might we face, in the post-COVID world? How might the practice of public health change? How might society's institutions change, evolve or devolve? How might the world of work change? How might the social contract change? And how might we "bounce forward" to a new and more sustainable future?

with…


Nicholas Christakis Director, Human Nature Lab, Yale University
Hilary Cottam Social Entrepreneur and Author
Aarathi Krishnan Humanitarian Futures and Strategic Foresight Advisor
Andrew Zolli Vice President, Planet Inc., Forecaster and Author

 

Tuesday June 23, 2020

6:30pm to
7:30pm
(EET)

11:30am to
12:30pm
(EST)

8:30am to
9:30am
(PST)
Humanity & AI:
Cooperation, Collision, or Coevolution?


Few tools, if any, promise to shape humanity as deeply and widely as artificial intelligence. In this sneak-peak at our 2021 SNF Conference, we will discuss the promise of AI and the many surprising ways it's shaping the future of society, the way we work and connect and our very idea of who we are.

with…


Blaise Aguera y Arcas Distinguished Scientist, Google
Azeem Azhar Founder, Exponential View
Madeleine Clare Elish Program Director, AI on the Ground Data & Society
Andrew Zolli Vice President, Planet Inc., Forecaster and Author
7:30pm to
8:40pm
(EET)

12:30pm to
1:40pm
(EST)

9:30am to
10:40am
(PST)
Humanity & AI:
Can We Keep Humanity at the Center?


How do we ensure that AI works for humanity and not against it? We'll explore how our values can and should shape the tools we make, how we can maintain the right kinds of controls, and how the conversation between technology and society is evolving.

with…


Stuart Russell Professor of Computer Science, University of California Berkeley
Tristan Harris Co-Founder & President, Center for Humane Technology
Tenzin Priyadarshi President and CEO, Dalai Lama Center for Ethics and Transformative Values, MIT
Sabelo Mhlambi Founder, Bantucracy
Aarathi Krishnan Humanitarian Futures and Strategic Foresight Advisor
8:45pm to
9:30pm
(EET)

1:45pm to
2:30pm
(EST)

10:45am to
11:30am
(PST)
Special Discussion:
Humanity & AI:
How Do Youth Perceive AI Ethics?


The next generation will inherit a world transformed by artificial intelligence. In this special conversation, hear from two young people exploring the future they will shape and inhabit, and challenging the adults about the consequences of their current choices and decisions for future generations.

with…


Andreas Dracopoulos Co-President, Stavros Niarchos Foundation
Francesca Rossi AI Ethics Global Leader, IBM
  Closing Remarks

Andreas Dracopoulos Co-President, Stavros Niarchos Foundation
Speakers
Read the bios of the speakers participating at the SNF Conference